&larr 2000
Nationals 2001
2002 &rarr

Home   Main Page   Participants   Rounds   Team Results   Top Quizzers   Memories  

The 39th National Bible Quiz Finals took place July 8-13, 2001 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa at First Assembly of God covering the gospel of Luke. Bernie Elliot was the National Coordinator and Greg House, Dan Smith, Rick Faulkner and Tim Bahra were the official question writers. This was the second year in which the official writing team wrote questions. In years prior to 2000, one writer would write league questions and the league writer from the previous year wrote the district, regional and national questions. This year was the second year of an experiment to see if having a fixed team of writers for both leagues and official competition would work. Though some members left the team and others joined, they continued to write officially until 2004.

The Church at Briargate, Colorado Springs, CO

This was also the second year in which 40 teams were invited to participate. On the first day, the second through fifth place teams from each region competed in four separate divisions. The top three in each division joined the eight regional champions in the championship division. The other twenty teams played each other in the challenger division.

The championship division was won by The Church at Briargate, Colorado Springs, CO (pictured). Although different in church name, this was the same team that placed second in 2000. The second place team was Faith Family Life Centre, Topeka, KS. The third place team was Christian Chapel Assembly of God, Tulsa, OK. The challenger division was won by Expressway Assembly of God, Buffalo, NY.

This marks the third consecutive and thirteenth overall year in which the Southwest region has won nationals. This was also the first of four national championships for The Church at Briargate. They also won in 2004, 2006 and 2007. Team captain Jordan Schneider was also the coach of the 2004 championship team. Her mother, Jodi Heugel, was also a previous national champion from the 1977 team from Aurora, CO. Mary Pace was a member of the 2004 championship team and Molly Pace was a member of the 2004 and 2006 championship teams.

The top scorer at the 2001 National Finals was Michael Pearson from Dallas, TX. Michael's per quiz average was 120.26. He also quizzed out forward in all but two games. Also breaking 100 points per game was Dan Marlow of Topeka, KS, high scorer from 2000.

The individual tournament was won by Ryan Skolrud of Bothell, WA. The quoting bee was won by Lydia Butay of Christian Chapel, Tulsa, OK. The west won their third consecutive east-west quiz.

Complete records for this event, including round by round scores and top quizzers, are available on this site. To view a larger image of the program cover, please select the image at left.